Employed Again

Guess what? I got a j-o-b!

The seeds were planted many months ago. One of my closest friends, Dawn, was telling me about her husband’s office. He’s a psychologist who he practices independently and was needing help with some of his billing. I said “Dawn, I could do that! And I would be cheap!”

And there it sat. I didn’t really expect to get a job out of it. It was a conversation between friends about life frustrations, not a job interview.

So, imagine my surprise when Dan approached me a couple of weeks ago and asked to talk to me about this very topic. His current methods weren’t working very well anymore for a number of reasons and it was time to look into other possibilities. I sat down with him one Sunday to discuss his needs, my experience, my schooling, my schedule, etc. I walked out of that meeting with a job.

I will still be finishing school. I have one semester left to go that I’ll be registering for in the next few weeks (as soon as the new online learning platform is up and running). My work schedule is going to be very flexible so I will still be able to be home with the kids when I need to be. There is some work that I will be able to complete from home as well.

I sat down last week with the person currently doing this work and got started learning the ropes. I’ll be sitting down with her again on Saturday. I’m eager to get up and running with this because I feel like there is a lot of good that I can do here – billing, organization, records – they all need attention and I can totally get that in hand.

I’m not going to be bringing in a whole heap of money but it’s a place to start and a foot in the door. I get an enormous amount of flexibility about my work schedule which is worth its weight in gold (if such a thing could be weighed). I’m excited to be able to help my friend and her family by regulating some things in their lives.

So, there it is. After a decade home with the kids, I am suddenly employed again and I owe it all to Twitter!

2 thoughts on “Employed Again

  1. Pingback: Becoming A Medical Coder | This Suburban Life

Leave a Reply

