Gardens Galore

It took 6 years of living in this house but I have FINALLY tamed the gardens and the weeds (mostly! that’s an ongoing chore). The front, back, and sides of the house are all weeded out, annuals are planted, and the perennials are spreading – if slowly in some spots.

We have A LOT of landscaping at this house. So much so that it never occurred to us when we first saw the house just how much yard care there would be. It’s been really hard to keep up with for any number of reasons and I feel a huge sense of accomplishment to have gotten so far this year. I wanted to share some pictures of the progress.  There are still areas that I’m not going to show because they’re basically bare dirt where I’m TRYING to grow ground cover. That’s a slow process. But some things look really nice.

hese are the flowers the boys helped me plant. Mostly impatiens with a row of torenia in the back.

These are the flowers the boys helped me plant. Mostly impatiens with a row of torenia in the back.

Torenia up close. We have a variety of colors.

Torenia up close. We have a variety of colors.

In the small bed with full sun (almost the only full sun spot in my gardens) that sits by the sidewalk to the front door, we planted some snap dragons and salvia (also called Victoria Blue).

Yes, I know it's a little weedy. I weed this constantly and I still have issues.

Yes, I know it’s a little weedy. I weed this constantly and I still have issues.

Salvia up close

Salvia up close

Snap dragons

Snap dragons

Last, I got some more left over impatiens from my father-in-law and shoved those into one of the beds by the back patio. They’ve haven’t spread or bloomed quite as much as the others yet but they’re working on it.

more impatiens

more impatiens

I’m really pleased with this year’s progress. I have more things I’d like to do long term but that will take several planting seasons. I am hoping to do some transplanting in the early fall when things cool a bit and the plants won’t take such a shock. (We have a wooded back hill that I plan to poach vinca from.)

All in all it’s coming along!

 

 

Leave a Reply

